Jain Dharma

Jain Dharma

Jainism is also known as Jain Dharm, Jin Dharm, Jinmrga, Jinsan, Jinvachan, and Jinvni, and Nirgranth Dharm, Nirgranthsan, Vitargamrg, Anekntadaran, and Arhat Dharm are other names for the same thing. Similar to Sanatan Dharm, Bauddh Dharm, Sikh Dharm, and Bonpa Dharm, it is an Arya dharm. This indicates that it is a religion founded on the Moksha Doctrine. It claims to be an Astika darshan, like the Sanatan and Bauddh dharmas.

There are two fundamental tenets of Jainism. These are:

The term “jiva tattva” refers to living things.
The ajiva tattva—which means “non-living objects”—comes into contact with these two principles, generating certain energies that result in birth and various experiences of life and death. Jainism has a five-point code of ethics. It goes like this:

  1. Ahiñsā – non-violence
  2. Satya – truth
  3. Asteya – non-stealing
  4. Brahmacharya – celibacy
  5. Aparigraha – non-acceptance of gifts

Jains consider themselves to be Hindus, and it was actually Dayanand Saraswati who had pushed for government legislation to recognize them as distinct from the Hindu community.

“The fact that Jains, Buddhists, and Sikhs look back to Hinduism as their common mother” is the source of the kinship between the Indian religions. S. Vernon McCasland Pan-Hindu monarchs were open to accepting and supporting members of any other sect, despite their own devotion to a particular sect. The Jain king of Kalinga, King Kharvela, was referred to as a “sarva pasanda pujaka” and “sarva devayatana samskarana.” Additionally, line 17th of his Hatigumpha inscription reveals that he repaired each deity’s temple.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *